celebrating ncc’s class of 2019!

nebraska christian college held its 73rd annual commencement on saturday, may 11, 2019. graduates and their loved ones enjoyed a banquet on friday evening that featured a keynote address from hiu president, dr. john derry. the video production class created and presented a special video tribute incorporating pictures of the graduates participating in various activities and events throughout their time at ncc.

on saturday, a full house of family and friends packed into the mec’s lovitt family auditorium to celebrate and congratulate the class of 2019. graduates were challenged again by an inspiring address from president derry. annual academic and service awards were presented to several outstanding students, as follows:

  • delta chi epsilon honor society award – austin taylor williams & halie glatter

  • stone campbell journal promising scholar award – bethany wells

  • institute honors recipients – hannah shaheen, tim hurley, & jaylin chacon

  • merit award – hannah may

  • progress award – jessica hinde

  • linda lu lloyd service award – austin taylor williams

  • swedburg dean’s cup/valedictorian – kayla bloodworth

the ceremony also included two significant first-time awards. an honorary doctorate degree was bestowed on professor david haynes, to a rousing standing ovation. the inaugural milliken award for christian service was presented to dr. derry who is retiring this summer after 16 years of service as university president.

the new milliken award was established by the ncc faculty in honor of one of the most significant families in the history of the college. the extended milliken family has produced two presidents as well as several faculty members, students, alumni, donors, and friends.

jonathan norton